Sat Nov 22 2014 - Thu Jan 29 2015
Age, Women, History

A Clamouring Silence

The image of the ageing woman portrayed in the media, film and literature is prejudiced. Her experiences and memories, her own voice, are not heard and what she herself has created in her own lifetime is overlooked. In the worst cases, we are not even interested in listening to her. Her skin colour, class, sexuality, language, intellectual and physical abilities, the gender she identifies with and the gender others perceive her as belonging to, all of these play a role in her identity and in the way she is treated when she begins to age.
This exhibition discusses ideas, norms and ideals concerning women’s ageing. You will be met by a medley of different voices that speak both about silence and withdrawal and about resisting norms and finding independent alternatives. The exhibition includes artist Susanna Arwin’s 18-woman-strong army of old ladies, entitled Tantfullness, extracts from academic research, reflections, lyric poetry and a video piece by filmmaker Daniel Rudstedt. You can even hear how silence and resistance can sound in composer Frida Selander’s sound-art work, especially composed for the exhibition.

Sat Nov 22 - Sun Dec 21 2014 Women’s History Museum
Tuesday Dec 23 2014 Women’s History Museum
Fri Dec 26 - Sun Dec 28 2014 Women’s History Museum
Tuesday Dec 30 2014 Women’s History Museum
Fri Jan 2 - Sun Jan 4 2015 Women’s History Museum
Wed Jan 7 - Sun Jan 11 2015 Women’s History Museum
Tue Jan 13 - Sun Jan 18 2015 Women’s History Museum
Tue Jan 20 - Sun Jan 25 2015 Women’s History Museum
Tue Jan 27 - Thu Jan 29 2015 Women’s History Museum

Part of a project: Women´s History Museum
More information: http:/­/­www.kvinnohistoriskt.se/­

comments powered by Disqus
You are here: Homepage | Events | A Clamouring Silence